So the Frame Rate...

Here you can discuss the game in general and provide us your opinion or feedback on the project.

14.11.2019, 11:06

How long will it be before the frame rate issues are resolved or do we have to accept poor performance?

i have a GeForce 1060 6GB card and on a lot of the maps i only get 20 FPS?!?! on other maps i only up to 70 which is poor indeed, this has nothing to do with my rig as my rig has recently been upgraded to a high standard that is clearly not hight enough for survarium which dosent even have photorealistic graphics so it should not be demanding any higher then a 2GB i get better frame rates on games with better graphics so why not in survarium?

this has been going on for quite some time and i never said anything because i am awear that you know about this issue which is a big one indeed but i never see anything being done about it, update after update and the issue remains...i already have it bad enough with ping being from where i am from so killing is hard enough the last thing i need is frame rate issues making things worse.

Please do something about it and make it top priority over all the other irrelevant updates like shifting the sun in abondonded base which by the way is one of the maps where i only see 20 FPS
User avatar
MKRYDR
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25.10.2018, 10:53
Location: South Africa

14.11.2019, 15:21

GPU is not everything, please state the other components of your rig and also what Windows and Nvidia drivers are you on. Also show us your in-game settings.

At least GPU-wise you're well above the recommended requirements and should be getting a stable 60 fps at the very least on 1080P with "High" preset.

Failing connection may lead to large FPS drops. And in your case devs see that your usual latency is 260-300 and spikes to 400+ are not uncommon. @joewillburn (our Community Manager) also lives in SA but due to stable connection his gameplay is fine (as far as I know).
Last edited by Chandrian on 14.11.2019, 15:39, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Chandrian
Supermoderator
Survivor
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 03.04.2013, 18:33
Location: Spain

14.11.2019, 19:17

I live in Eastern Canada. I have a 1060 6gb card, 16gb of RAM and Survarium is installed to a SSD. I have never had any frame rate issues, or performance issues since I've started playing.

It sounds like it's a problem on your end.

Like Chandrian stated above, what are the specs for the rest of your PC? Do you play over WiFi or are you connected by ethernet cable? What is the speed of your home internet?

Tell us all these things and we may be able to help you more, but blaming it on the game just because your rig doesn't run it properly doesn't do anything to help the developers or yourself.
Last edited by VooDooRex on 14.11.2019, 19:17, edited 1 time in total.

VooDooRex
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03.11.2019, 16:05

14.11.2019, 23:05

I have same issue about few weeks, since last big update. I had no problem with frame drops before, and it doesn't matter if i play on high setting or low settings the problem with frame drop is same.
I have AMD FX 8350, and geforce gtx 1050 ti, 16 GB RAM
Last edited by Maxxx2277 on 14.11.2019, 23:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Maxxx2277
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 05.03.2015, 14:19

15.11.2019, 00:52

And what about the entire section where I asked about your internet connection?

VooDooRex
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 03.11.2019, 16:05

15.11.2019, 12:07

Detailed Rig Stats:

GPU: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
RAM: 8GB
Nvidia Drivers: GeForce Game ready Driver v441.20 (always keep this up to date)
Storage: 1TB SSD
CPU: Intel Core i5 3.0 Ghz
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Survarium Graphics settings are custom with some features on high others on low or off, my ping in EU servers is usually 226-234ms, on RU servers it's 266-270ms+ on NA servers it's 304-332ms+ and the game sometimes locks those servers as the servers it searches on so that would be why my ping is ususaly in that vicinity. unfortionately for me i don't have access to fiber like @joewillburn does because south africa is governed by sht heads. the fastesed line i can get where i am is a 2mb/s ADSL, so lag is expected how ever i do not have the option for latency boost checked due to the frame rate issues.

As for the Frame rate drop there are lots of maps in which i get up tp 94 fps with my current settings however maps like abandoned base and CNPP cooling tower(all variations) it sometimes starts at 60-70 fps then drops between 25 and 30 fps, there are also times where it jumps between 70 and 25 fps constantly during a match.
Last edited by MKRYDR on 15.11.2019, 12:14, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
MKRYDR
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25.10.2018, 10:53
Location: South Africa

15.11.2019, 15:26

MKRYDR wrote:the game sometimes locks those servers as the servers it searches on

This happens when your game has crashed and you didn't restart it after that (that's the fix to this bug).

Make sure you have screen space reflections disabled. Abandoned base map has many green crystals that use these reflections and they tank FPS even on my GTX 1080. And it was like this even before the 0.60e1 patch.

If your SSR option is off then try changing the "geometry quality" setting. Ivan said that what we had before 0.60e1 would equal to current "low" setting of that option.

If after checking these you still get FPS drops then please send a PM on our official discord to Ivan#9728 about this issue.
User avatar
Chandrian
Supermoderator
Survivor
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 03.04.2013, 18:33
Location: Spain

15.11.2019, 16:39

Grass shadows could also be tanking your fps.
User avatar
UnknownPlayer666
 
Posts: 948
Joined: 30.03.2017, 16:22

16.11.2019, 12:36

UnknownPlayer666:Grass shadows could also be tanking your fps.

already disabled
Chandrian:
This happens when your game has crashed and you didn't restart it after that (that's the fix to this bug).

Make sure you have screen space reflections disabled. Abandoned base map has many green crystals that use these reflections and they tank FPS even on my GTX 1080. And it was like this even before the 0.60e1 patch.

If your SSR option is off then try changing the "geometry quality" setting. Ivan said that what we had before 0.60e1 would equal to current "low" setting of that option.

If after checking these you still get FPS drops then please send a PM on our <a href="https://survarium.com/en/community" class="postlink to Ivan#9728 about this issue.


Space reflections are disabled and have always been, along with film grain, grass shadows and more, geometry details are on medium too, i recently lowered the quality of certain aspects and i do see a better frame rate (not as good as expected) but it still doesnt answer a burning question, how can a game with small areas and avarage graphics demand so much from a GPU? it doesnt make sence, there are games out there with graphics close to photorealisim that demand less, how is this possable?

theres no way its my rig as can be seen from the specs provided, i have had a gamers upgrade for 3D too. i am awear that poor latency can affect this but only if you check the latency booster to my knowledge, as the latency booster states that it may cause drops in frame rate.
Last edited by Chandrian on 18.11.2019, 01:28, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: double-posting, merged posts
User avatar
MKRYDR
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25.10.2018, 10:53
Location: South Africa

16.11.2019, 18:26

Devs stated to me that your poor connection with very high ping is causing these issues. Select one server with the lowest ping for you (I hope you're not playing on WiFi?), play one match, check the FPS and then repeat with other servers with worse ping.
User avatar
Chandrian
Supermoderator
Survivor
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 03.04.2013, 18:33
Location: Spain

16.11.2019, 18:47

Trouble is from South Africa if I remember well. How about his internet connection?
User avatar
Tanatloc
 
Posts: 933
Joined: 08.03.2016, 17:01

17.11.2019, 12:46

Chandrian:Devs stated to me that your poor connection with very high ping is causing these issues. Select one server with the lowest ping for you (I hope you're not playing on WiFi?), play one match, check the FPS and then repeat with other servers with worse ping.


i have always been on this line and this FPS drop hasnt always been a issue.

the frame rate drop is the same regardless of the sever i play on

Tanatloc:Trouble is from South Africa if I remember well. How about his internet connection?

we have already established that, thanks
Last edited by Chandrian on 18.11.2019, 01:27, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: double-posting, merged posts
User avatar
MKRYDR
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25.10.2018, 10:53
Location: South Africa

18.11.2019, 04:05

Tanatloc wrote:Trouble is from South Africa if I remember well. How about his internet connection?

Perhaps you refer to me?
Sorry, I am in Melbourne, Australia and I am on a fibre connection.
User avatar
trouble_every_day
Supermoderator
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: 03.04.2013, 20:55
Location: Melbourne

19.11.2019, 17:12

trouble_every_day:
Perhaps you refer to me?
Sorry, I am in Melbourne, Australia and I am on a fibre connection.

Whoops. I thought, one of admins or maybe VG representative is from there.
User avatar
Tanatloc
 
Posts: 933
Joined: 08.03.2016, 17:01

19.11.2019, 21:24

Tanatloc:
Whoops. I thought, one of admins or maybe VG representative is from there.


Joe is South African, maybe you were thinking of him?
Haven't seen him around here or in game for a long time though, does he even still work for VG?
User avatar
Scaramanga
 
Posts: 235
Joined: 06.10.2015, 21:11

20.11.2019, 01:34

Scaramanga wrote:Joe is South African, maybe you were thinking of him?
Haven't seen him around here or in game for a long time though, does he even still work for VG?

He still plays and works for VG...
User avatar
Chandrian
Supermoderator
Survivor
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 03.04.2013, 18:33
Location: Spain

22.11.2019, 01:14

Chandrian:
He still plays and works for VG...


Good to know :)
User avatar
Scaramanga
 
Posts: 235
Joined: 06.10.2015, 21:11

02.12.2019, 16:08

I have a RTX 2080 Ti and don't even bother to use it for Survarium, because it's a little overkill. Survarium runs very well on the onboard GPU on ultra settings with 144 FPS, it's well optimized.
User avatar
SKYZ0R
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 04.10.2015, 19:24

02.12.2019, 20:33

VooDooRex:I live in Eastern Canada. I have a 1060 6gb card, 16gb of RAM and Survarium is installed to a SSD. I have never had any frame rate issues, or performance issues since I've started playing.

It sounds like it's a problem on your end.

Like Chandrian stated above, what are the specs for the rest of your PC? Do you play over WiFi or are you connected by ethernet cable? What is the speed of your home internet?

Tell us all these things and we may be able to help you more, but blaming it on the game just because your rig doesn't run it properly doesn't do anything to help the developers or yourself.



Incredible VG have create a BOT able to write on the forum.
User avatar
William-g
 
Posts: 1470
Joined: 07.04.2014, 10:57
Location: warsaw

02.12.2019, 23:47

SKYZ0R:I have a RTX 2080 Ti and don't even bother to use it for Survarium, because it's a little overkill. Survarium runs very well on the onboard GPU on ultra settings with 144 FPS, it's well optimized.

Rly? O_o
User avatar
Tanatloc
 
Posts: 933
Joined: 08.03.2016, 17:01

In order to reply you must be signed in.

Return to Game Discussion